Recipes

Dressed Up Oatmeal

I’m one of those people who can’t function without breakfast.  Because I’m no longer six, toaster strudels aren’t enough to keep me going.  I spend more time fixing and enjoying breakfast than I do with any other part of my morning routine. Hair, make-up, clothing selection, can all be done in a few quick minutes. Breakfast is always priority.

photo 3 (1)

For the record, this will never be a recipe blog. I’m horrible at measuring and careful record keeping. I hope the recipes I share from time to time will serve as nuggets of inspiration when your own energy bars, breakfasts, and so on get old.

Instant oatmeal used to be my jam. It was easy and it’s typically chock full of sugar, so it’s delicious. Often heavily processed (and chock full of sugar) it’s not the healthiest choice you could make for your gut and might leave you feeling hungry again quickly.

I started making my own. Instantly more tasty. Cheaper. Less trash. Makes me feel like my Cuisinart was a worthwhile purchase.

Dressed Up Oatmeal

(change measurements to taste and preference)

  • 6 cups oats (I like Bob’s Red Mill or Trader Joes for certified GF oats. Oats are naturally GF, but many plants share equipment with wheat products. Pricier, but makes enough you’re still saving over instant oatmeal packets)
  • 6-8 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • Heaping scoop of dried coconut flakes (not the sweetened kind. Check the bulk section at your Whole Foods or local co-op)
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Dash of nutmeg
  • Heaping scoop of craisins or other dried fruit (apricots, raisins, cherries)
  • Dash of hemp seeds
  • Dash of poppy seeds
  • As much ground sea salt as you need to balance the sweetness of the sugar

Pulse in a food processor or blender. Make sure most of the oats are near pulverized, but stop shy of everything turning to dust. You may wish to chop the dried fruit separately so the fruit isn’t clumped to the bottom of the blade. Store in airtight plastic or glass containers. I like these Weck jars–they make big and small ones. Lots of options at Fantes for the Philadelphians in the Mexi-Italian Market.

To prepare: scoop your desired amount of dry mix in a bowl. Add boiling water (from a kettle, or the hot selection on your office water cooler). Microwave 30 seconds after that. That combo leaves your oatmeal cooked in instant-time.

photo 3

This is good as is, but looks a little ho-hum. Add amazing toppings to make all of your colleagues, roommate or family jealous of the culinary prowess you are capable of before having a sip of coffee.

Suggested toppings:

  • Pan-fried chopped apple (with cinnamon, coconut sugar and butter or coconut oil)
  • craisins
  • pepitas or other seeds
  • chopped pistachios
  • more cinnamon

photo 4

Not exciting enough? Add a banana. And nuts. Too thick? Add some water.

Win breakfast.

photo 2 (1)

 

If you’re really crazy about oatmeal, there are more recipes to be found, also by Philly yoga teachers!  Check out Teagan’s Fantabulous Oatmeal.

One thought on “Dressed Up Oatmeal

  1. This looks so yummy! I already love oatmeal and eat it all the time (especially in the winter) but I had no idea that I could make my own instant mix! Thanks for the inspiration. =)

Leave a Reply

