Recipes

Granola! (A Paleo Recipe)

Rise and shine sleepyheads!  It’s Tuesday, which means I’ve been up since 5:00AM, making me my most energized at the 9 o’clock hour. Feeling extra excited because I just had the most divine breakfast (recipe to follow) outside on the patio, on the most gorgeous day ever.

Yes, I eat my breakfast off a laminated Rand McNally map-placemat from the 1980s.

Yes, I eat my breakfast off a laminated Rand McNally map-placemat from the 1980s.

It was 69 degrees, cloudless, with no humidity.  I felt transported to a cool vacation morning at the beach.  Out of the corner of my eye I saw a truck pulling a boat and thought: “yes, it would be a lovely day for that.”  But this is downtown Philadelphia, and that truck and boat was actually a cement truck.

About 1 year ago, I tried the Paleo diet at the suggestion of a doctor.  It’s not really a “diet,” although some followers achieve successful weight loss.  I did it because I was running into food intolerances that were making my life hell on earth.

Before you dismiss this as some eating-extremism, or tell me how many times you’ve heard whole grains are good for you, I’d like to say for the record: eat whatever the hell you want.  Whatever nourishes your body.  Whatever makes you feel good.  Fill yourself with foods that honor your body and your mind.  Just like no style of yoga is one-size-fits-all, no dietary plan is either.

Vegan, vegetarian, pescetarian, paleo, primal, whatever.  Do what makes you feel good.  I draw no hard-and-fast rules charted by someone else selling cookbooks and meal plans, because it’s my body.  My body, my business.  Vegetarians who want to sneak some meat: I do not judge you.  Paleos who want all the chocolate in the world (even under 70%): I salute you.  Ice cream, butter, whatever.  Do it or don’t, and try not to feel guilty as long as you feel good.

Anyways, I’m back on a (mostly) paleo-train.  Kick-started by some kick-ass granola.

I wish I could insert smell into this post because this was the best smelling granola ever.

I wish I could insert smell into this post because this was the best smelling granola ever.

Good Morning Granola, adapted from these recipes at Eat Drink Paleo and Cook Eat Paleo.  

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups mixed slivered almonds, hazelnuts, and walnuts
  • 1 cup dried cranberries and raisins
  • 1/2 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
  • 1/2 cup raw, hulled sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup unsweetened dried coconut flakes (buy in bulk at Whole Foods, Nuts to You, or your local bulk grocer)
  • 2  TBS chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup raw honey
  • 1/4 cup gluten-free brown rice syrup (this makes it less-paleo, so you could do all honey if you need.  Rice syrup helps make the granola crispy)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 325 F.
  2. Pulse nuts, dried fruit and coconut in the food processor a few times until nicely chopped (try not to go overboard or you’ll get a pulverized meal texture).
  3. Melt coconut oil, honey, rice syrup and vanilla for about 30 seconds in the microwave in a large bowl, stir to integrate.
  4. Add fruit/nut mixture and seeds to honey-oil mixture, stir well!
  5. Spread over parchment on a cookie sheet.
  6. Bake for 25-40 minutes (until nicely golden brown) stirring a few times during baking (bottom and edges will crisp and brown faster than top).
  7. Enjoy!
I had mine over Whole Food's 365 Brand Original Almond Milk

I had mine over Whole Food’s 365 Brand Original Almond Milk with fresh blueberries from an Amish foodstand.

One thought on “Granola! (A Paleo Recipe)

  1. Pingback: Vacation Flow | Lisa Rigby Yoga

Leave a Reply

